Day 364/366: the bad

img_0199a
Anna Scholz dress from 2014 worn at The Curve Fashion Festival in September

My posts have been few and far between over the past few months.  2016 has been a horribly difficult year for me both personally and for the world in general which has not helped me to keep to my pledge.

I managed to keep to my promise to myself not to buy any new clothes until mid-August when I discovered Lindy Bop clothes whilst spending a lot of time at home because I was really unwell.  They had a massive sale going on and I just fell into buying huge quantities of their clothes.  I sent most of them back or sold them on, but have ended up with 17 Lindy Bop dresses out of the 40 I purchased (OMG this is sounding terrible).

Since then I have backslid further and purchased new clothes from other online vintage-style retailers such as Lady V and new retailer Joanie Clothing.   All of the clothes I have bought from these retailers have been beautiful, they have been chosen for how amazing they look and their lovely style.  Anything that even vaguely didn’t work on me has been sent back.

I have also bought clothes from Ebay which is something that I said I wouldn’t do and I think this is my biggest let down as I could easily have avoided this.  I did only buy two dresses from bricks and mortar shops though so I think I managed to get myself out of the habit of browsing the shops as a leisure activity.  I did however continue to visit charity shops and find some lovely things, especially wool jumpers and cardigans which I wear lots.

So I have come to the end of the year with more clothes than I started with, despite selling a significant number of dresses and other things online and giving more away to charity shops and friends.  This is disheartening as I started on my pledge with such hope that I could break myself out of the shopping habit.

stripes
At last, an all old outfit.  Skirt Primark 2014, wool jumper Figleaves around 2008

However, I have learnt a few things about myself and my habits this year, and also my style has changed a bit.  I will talk about this more in my next blog.