Day 231/366 : Falling off the wagon

Well, it happened.  I totally fell off the new clothes buying ban wagon big-style and went mad in the Lindy Bop sale.

twiggy
This is the Twiggy shift dress. I absolutely love it.

I knew if a failure of willpower was going to happen in my year of no spending that it would be big, but perhaps not as big as it actually was. I bought six dresses, three cardigans and a top that I’m keeping and I’m sending back five dresses, 2 shrugs and a jacket because of fit issues.

Ariel
This is the Ariel, it’s got such an amazing shape

Up until now I’ve been SO good for the whole of this year about not browsing in shops that it’s become second nature not to head into the clothes section of supermarkets or just going into town on a Saturday afternoon for a mooch around to see what’s on the rails.

Janice
The pattern of this fabric is so beautiful

I’ve been quite unwell since the start of August and have spent nearly three weeks at home off work, mostly in bed. Frustration and boredom has led to a spending spree starting with buying perfume, shoes and boots online along with various dresses from Facebook selling pages. I can’t stop and have gone well over what I should have spent.

Ellen
This is a lovely dress, really nice thick stretchy cotton

So this spree has ended (I hope) with me raiding the Lindy Bop sale.  I feel hugely disappointed with myself, but I also feel that I have picked up some really lovely dresses at bargain prices as the sales at Lindy Bop are known for large discounts – all my dresses were between £12 and £15 and the cardigans were £10 or less.

So there you go, I lasted 226 days of the 366 of 2016, pretty much 2/3 of the year which isn’t all that bad.  I’m not going to go back to buying new things though, although I’m giving myself a free pass for the Curve Fashion Festival in Liverpool on 10th September.

I’m hoping that once I feel better and I’m back at work and not frustrated and ill at home that I will be in a better place for both my head and for my wallet.  Keep your fingers crossed for me that I can scramble back onto the wagon and ride it until the end of the year.

5 thoughts on “Day 231/366 : Falling off the wagon

  1. Being home from work is a struggle and being sick as well is a bad combination. You are human. Don’t be too hard on yourself. Besides.. one mistake and you are returning a heap.
    Tomorrow is another day. Xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for understanding Yvonne. Now I’ve fallen off the wagon I’m finding it hard to stop looking at clothes online (and I bought a new dress in a proper shop on Saturday….) Hard to get back to my discipline. But, I went back to work today and I’m away all weekend, so hopefully it will take my mind off my obsessional thoughts.

      Like

  2. I know but sometimes we have to look after ourselves. I am ok. Was thinking of sending a chat message to catch up with you x x

    Like

Comments are closed.